Sometimes the world seems against you
The journey may leave a scar
But scars can heal and reveal just
Where you are..

The people you love will change you..
The things you have learned will guide you..
And nothing on earth can silence..
The quiet voice still inside you..
And when that voice starts to whisper
You’ve come so far..
Listen..
Do you know who you are?

Dear Juan,

I haven’t written to you in ages. I think we need to have that talk again, where I tell you stuff, and you keep your thoughts to yourself and listen. I know it’s hard because you always have something to say, but hey, remember, silence is powerful. Silence is magical.

You may not know me, but I know you. I watched you grow. I’ve heard and still hearing your lame jokes. I watched you struggle, I was there with you when you did. I watched you voice out your opinion. I watched you embarrassed yourself a million times. I know because I laughed out loud when that happened. I felt your scars and wounds. Infact I help bandaged them. Sometimes I succeed, but most of the time I fail.

I fail because you always stop me. Did you know when you believe in yourself, that is when I am the strongest most? When you believe you’re worthy, I become unstoppable. When you believe you’re enough and important, I take with me my shield and sword for you. When you know you’re beautiful,  I bloom like a morning glory from the depths of your soul.

So can you do me a favour? Can you start believing again? Can you quiet the voices in your head and find the will to listen to the voice within?  Can you don’t hurt me with your words? Can you help me, to help you? Can you love me a little bit more? Only when you love me in all my failures and success, you can learn to love others completely.  Can you be kind to me? Your unkind words are piecing and they hinder me from holding all of your pieces. I might have mispalced a few and I am sorry about that.

I want you to know, that I love you. You have come so far and you will go further. You’re amazing. You’re beautiful. You’re important. You’re enough. I am proud of you. You also have 200+ kids relying on you for love, for care, for validation, for someone to hold them when the whole world is against them. 🙂

They call you..

Love,

The other Juan, the voice within

Who am I?
I am a girl who loves my island
I’m the girl who loves the sea
It calls me
I am the daughter of the village chief
We are descended from voyagers
Who found their way across the world
They call me..

I’ve delivered us to where we are
I have journeyed farther
I am everything I’ve learned and more
Still it calls me..
And the call isn’t out there at all, it’s inside me
It’s like the tide; always falling and rising
I will carry you here in my heart, you’ll remind me
That come what may…
I know the way

Leave a Reply

